Showing posts with label New Year. Show all posts
Showing posts with label New Year. Show all posts

Sunday, January 3, 2010

Frost

New Year's morning I tried to pull the couch away from the window, and it was stuck to this frost. I think it's a good thing there's plastic over these windows!

Friday, January 1, 2010

New Year's Eve

A friend posted on Facebook that ten years ago her family wrote about what they thought things would be like in ten years. Well, that got me to thinking, and it's funny that one activity I had done last night was the same as we had done that year. I had a five, four and one-year old then. Last night I was home with a five, two-year old, and one-month old.

As Mike and the older kids walked out the door to go to Bemidji last night, I hollered out to Melissa, "Let's party!" She got a big grin and continued what she was doing. After David's visitors left, she asked where the food was. (You can tell what we do when we have parties!) :)


Well, after supper I got out an ice cube tray and filled it with "treats" I unearthed of caramels, marshmallows, peanuts, peanut butter chips, and white chips, sliced two apples, opened two containers of pudding, and opened a package of crackers. I also ended up filling out quart jar of water three times.

Next we did some dancing to David's CD he got as a baby gift. Well, I had to laugh at that one. Obviously Laura has never seen me "dance" since the older kids usually do it with her. She just stood there and watched me with this strange look of wonder on her face for about a minute and a half before she smiled and started dancing along with me.


We did some other stuff and ended the night by reading books before falling asleep though my voice only lasted through three books--two short and one longer.



The thing I had done the same as ten years ago is we set up the tent and went camping. (Who says you can't camp when it's -19 F???) That was a big hit, and they mostly set up the tent by themselves. I think they only slept in it for about three hours because when David was up at 2, Melissa was in my bed. Laura came in shortly after.

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Happy New Year's Eve!

We're heading to Bemidji tonight to get in on some celebrating. We'll come home Friday sometime. :)

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

Happy New Year!

I hope everyone has a great 2008!

Monday, December 31, 2007

A Relaxing Day, Part 2





I did some writing in Laura's baby book today. Though I thought I kept up quite well, I can see places where hers is lacking compared to the other children's books.
In Tracy's book today I finished putting the pictures on her "fall" page but still have to do the writing.
This evening I made a pan of finger paint and let the three little girls paint in the tub. They didn't seem to have as much fun as the older set of three did, but I took a picture anyway. I'll have to see if I can scrounge up a picture of the older set also and post those tomorrow.
We had pizzas and pop for supper and just now had some popcorn and chips and dip. We played a few card games, another Scooby Doo movie is going right now, and the little Legos are out.

A Relaxing Day

I found the SD card out in the van. I've done dishes twice today and even got served breakfast in bed. I have laundry going and the house is basically clean.

At the moment the four middle kids and Mike are watching Scooby Doo movies.

We're gearing up for a small New Year's Eve party at our house. It will just be us unless we get some surprise company. I have some makings out for nachos, a pizza, smoothies, cookies, and of course we'll have pop for the kids and Mike. We were planning to go to a friend's house, but we have kids with sniffles.

One of the grocery stores up here has peanut butter for $.99 (the name brand) so I'll be heading to get some of that sometime this week.

In today's mail I got a letter from a friend whom I haven't heard from in years. I'm printing some pictures for her and will send her Christmas letter along with my regular writing.

Here's a picture of Laura "eating" her food yesterday. She still has leftovers in her hair even though I washed it!